CPO’s Winter Cyber Symphony streams from July 8

The Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra

The Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra’s Winter Cyber Symphony season goes ahead as planned, with one change.

To adhere to the latest restrictions surrounding gatherings in the face of increasing Covid-19 numbers, the CPO has been forced to use smaller orchestral forces and will now perform Dvorak’s Czech Suite for the first time in a symphony concert, and the Beethoven Symphony No 1, the work that revolutionized music as Beethoven introduced the Romantic period of music. They will be conducted by the CPO’s principal guest conductor, Bernhard Gueller.

With increasing numbers watching the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra’s cyber symphony seasons, virtually the only way the orchestra can connect with its loyal audience, the CPO is delighted to have at least this way of connecting with its audiences.

Says Louis Heyneman, “We know there is streaming-lethargy, but we are happy that our viewer numbers are rising consistently. We are also pleased to hear such positive comments about the quality of our concerts from the high musical standards to the technicalities of superior videography.

“We started the filming of the Winter season with high hopes for a small audience, but new Covid-19 restrictions reduced the number at gatherings to 100, including performers and crew so we only managed to open one concert and dress rehearsal to an audience. This was extremely sad for us, not only because of the financial implications, but because the musicians miss having a live audience so much. The rapport between audience and orchestra is palpable, and one feeds off the other. We hope that our next season, being filmed at the City Hall in August, will see the situation change.”

The Winter Cyber Symphony Season begins on July 8, with Dvorak and Beethoven. The second concert features the Haydn Cello Concerto in C with Anmari van der Westhuizen, and the Eroica Symphony by Beethoven, both conducted by Gueller. This concert begins streaming on July 15. On July 22, Jeremy Silver conducts the 3rd Symphony by Brahms, followed by Luis Magalhães’s interpretation of the 1st Piano Concerto by Tchaikovsky. The season is brought to an end on July 29 with Gueller on the podium and Megan-Geoffrey Prins performing the 3rd Beethoven Piano Concerto. Also on the programme is the Symphony no 40 by Mozart.

All the concerts are on line for four days only. We urge all ticket buyers to ensure that they receive a streaming code and to check their junk mail/spam first before contacting support@quicket.co.za Tickets at R440 for a subscription and R140 a single ticket are available at Quicket here https://qkt.io/Avj9i7

Shirley Gueller
071 318 1495
Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra