Call for Entries

Ryan Kreusch Gr 7

National Eisteddfod Academy Young Artist Awards competition 2021.

The National Eisteddfod Academy (NEA), a leading non-profit organisation for youth development in the arts, supported by the National Arts Council, is calling for entries for the 2021 edition of its Young Artist Awards Competition.

Launched in 2013, the NEA’s 9th Young Artist Awards Competition focuses on acknowledging and promoting young achievers in the Creative and Visual Arts. It provides the next level of competition for young artists that have participated in other eisteddfod and festival events…a higher level of competition for all those future Esther Mahlangu’s and Irma Stern’s of our country.

In the interest of all talented young artists in the country the NEA extends an invitation to other eisteddfods and festivals that provide for the visual arts to ‘join hands’ with the NEA and nominate and enter (under the name of the organisation) their top achievers for this competition. Alternatively, the parents of individual participants that have participated in these events, may enter them.

However as there are many schools, institutions and private studios that do not participate in any eisteddfods or festivals or manage their own internal visual arts competitions, or only do so bi-annually, the NEA would like to open a window of opportunity for the young artists at these institutions – schools, institutions and studios are invited to enter their top achievers for the Young Artist Award Competition. As the level of achievement needs to be high, entries from these institutions may only be submitted by the institution itself (and only after having conducted its own internal selection process), and not by the parents of the young artists.

A panel of adjudicators will adjudicate all entries during three rounds of adjudication and their decision will be final. During the first round the best art works per grade will be selected, followed by the semi-final round where only one artwork per grade will be selected. From this final selection a winner will be selected in each of the three categories (Entry Level (Gr. 0 – 3), Junior (Gr. 4 – 7) & Senior (Gr. 8 – Open Section).

As in 2020, the artworks of these participants will be on exhibition at the Alice Art Gallery in Ruimsig, Roodepoort prior to the announcement of the winners of the three categories.

The closing date for entries is 23 April. All art works must be submitted to the NEA office not later than 23 April 2021.

For entry fees, entry forms and additional information, please visit the website or contact the NEA Office on 011 886 6005 / e-mail:

Follow the NEA on:
Twitter @NEA_Eisteddfod
Facebook –

About the National Eisteddfod Academy NPC

The National Eisteddfod Academy (NEA) is a registered non-profit company that creates opportunities for youth development in the arts. The activities of the NEA provide various opportunities where young performers can develop and showcase their talents across the full spectrum of artistic and cultural diversity. Considering that, since the founding of the organisation in 1997 the annual NEA Eisteddfod activities have involved more than 560 000 participants in various rural and urban regions, it is fair to say that the NEA is an organisation that has had a significant impact on youth development in the arts. Notwithstanding the challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic the NEA also continued with activities throughout 2020 by introducing various alternatives for participation in the annual eisteddfod. The National Eisteddfod Academy launched the Young Performer Awards as a next level competition platform for young performers in 2004; some ten years later a Young Artist Awards competition for visual arts was initiated. The National Eisteddfod Young Performer Awards Competition for young performers in music, dance and drama, is presented annually and has awarded more than R500 000 in prizes in recent years. Mimi Coertse, Ismail Mahomed, Sibongile Mngoma, Gloria Bosman, Heinz Winkler, Relebogile Mabotja, Bianca le Grange, Vinette Ebrahim, Iain MacDonald, Roderick Jaftha, Diane Coutts, Petronel Malan and Henry Mylne are a few of the many well-known luminaries that have adjudicated in the past.

Media queries: Di Sparks, Behind the Scenes Communications, / 011 640 1500 / 073 208 8483

Di Sparks
073 208 8483
National Eisteddfod of South Africa

Sarah Miller Gr9
Sarah Miller Gr9
Danielle vd Westhuizen Gr 2
Danielle vd Westhuizen Gr 2
Bianca Opperman Gr 10
Bianca Opperman Gr 10