CPO Summer Cyber Symphonies streaming soon

CPO Summer Cyber Symphonies

Hot on the heels of a double Fiesta win come four more Cyber Symphonies presented by the country’s most revered orchestra, the Cape Town Philharmonic.

Beginning on March 25 on the Quicket platform and streamed on consecutive Thursdays, each for four days, the concerts feature Jeremy Silber, director of the UCT Opera School, and Bernhard Gueller, the CPO’s principal guest conductor.

All concerts were filmed under strict Covid-19 protocols, the first two at the Cape Town City Hall, the second two at the Hugo Lambrechts Auditorium, the latter with a limited audience of 40. The CPO thanks management of both for their support.

The series, which is generously sponsored by the City of Cape Town, features CPO and CPYO principal musicians as soloists in three concerts, and pianist Esthea Kruger in the fourth.

The first concert, which will be streamed from March 25 to 29, features Lisa White, the CPO’s principal oboe, in the Mozart Oboe Concerto. This technically challenging work so loved by oboists, was written for the oboe before Mozart published it for flute as well. Silver also conducts The Unanswered Question by Charles Ives and Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony, No. 41.

From April 1 to 5 you can hear the Cape Town Philharmonic Youth Orchestra’s principal horn and frequent ad hoc CPO principal Shannon Thebus in the First Horn Concerto by Richard Strauss. Silver directs the CPO in the Hebrides Overture by Mendelssohn and the Symphony No, 104 by Haydn.

The third concert, streamed from April 8 – 12 features Petrus Coetzee (viola) and Gabriele von Dürckheim and in the Concertino for Viola, Flute and Chamber Orchestra by Stefans Grové. In his final concert, Silver also conducts the overture to The Magic Flute by Mozart and the Symphony No. 2 by Beethoven.

Bernhard Gueller, known countrywide for his acclaimed performances with the JPO and KZNPO, returns to the CPO stage in the concert streamed from April 15 – 19. The South African pianist, Esthea Kruger, who has an established reputation in Europe, particularly in Germany, will perform the Piano Concert No. 20, K466 by Mozart. Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony completes the programme of this, the final concert in the Summer Cyber Symphonies series.

Subscriptions at R400 and single tickets at R120 each are available https://qkt.io/cyber-symph . More information, programme notes and booking instructions are on the CPO web https://www.cpo.org.za/new/

Shirley Gueller
071 318 1495
Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra

Shannon Thebus
Shannon Thebus